Nine Jurisdictions bans flights from India due to rise in COVID-19 cases

At least nine jurisdictions, The United States, The United Kingdom, The United Arab Emirates, France, Australia, Singapore, New Zealand, Hong Kong and Oman have imposed fresh restrictions on travel to and from India on account of the surge in COVID-19  cases.

Experts said that India currently poses the ‘biggest risk’ of exporting new variants of the coronavirus to countries around the world, and that they expected more borders to be closed for travel from India.

As of Thursday morning, India had 22,91,428 active cases of coronavirus infection, an increase of 1,33,890 cases over the previous day, according to government figures.

The UAE on Thursday became the latest country to close its borders for travellers from India, after Singapore imposed a travel ban and Australia announced it will reduce the number of its citizens who would be able to return from India and other red-zone countries.

According to airline sources, UAE authorities banned all flights from India for a period of 10 days from Sunday. The suspension is subject to a review after 10 days.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button